top of page
Search

iEco Buz with Jo Ann Day from "Mittens and More"

Updated: Jan 17, 2022

We are excited to share with you the next iEco Buz short talk with Jo Ann Day from Mittens and More. Learn more about how she utilizes old sweaters re-purposing them and more on tips for sustainable living from the interview below with Jo Ann at Issaquah Highlands Eco-market fair. To learn more about sustainable living, eco-friendly vendors Buzz interviews, follow us at IEco Buz |Facebook , @iEcobuz|Instagram or iEco Buz | YouTube.


Pic: Jo Ann Day at the Issaquah Highlands Eco Fair at Blakely Hall. In her interview with us, she said, "We have a lot of stuff in our lives. A little less stuff and then re-purposing what we don't want anymore."


What is your idea ?


Jo Ann Day: I make mittens, and I make them out of old sweaters that I've cut apart and then sewn back together. So they are old sweaters that don't fit or have holes in them or they are just too ugly to wear anymore.


How did you come up with your idea?


Jo Ann Day: Well, it is not original to me. I've seen other people make them, but I made my own pattern, and I've made these mittens for over 16 years.


If you were going to give one piece of advice to a family who is considering going down the Eco friendly path, what would that be?


Jo Ann Day: Well, I think the greatest place to start is just to reduce. We have a lot of stuff in our lives. A little less stuff and then re-purposing what we don't want anymore.


What else do you think humanity needs to do in order to make our world clean?


Jo Ann Day: I am a retired science teacher so I'm going to go with education because I don't think anything is going to happen unless people know about it, so just bringing up topics like that in casual conversations like climate change or reducing or recycling whether its in school or just between your friends or what you read. People have to know before they can do anything, so I'm going with education.










bottom of page